RSS

United in War- (2/2) (Final time!)

24 Jun

United in War- (2/2)

THE DOCTOR WHO PROJECT-
BRIEF ENCOUNTER-

UNITED IN WAR
By Ian Cai Mercer

Featuring- The First Doctor Ian, Barbara and Susan. Set in between Planet of Giants and The Dalek Invasion of Earth.

There are many things I could say about this story, how long it took and the tweaks/redrafts, expanding scenes, fleshing out the characters and species. I realised early on the Doctor and Susan had most of the dialogue/action, so had to really flesh out Ian and Barbara’s journey.
This was a challenge but also led to developing the delegates as well.

The Sculptor group is a nearby collection of galaxies, though a more recent change has seen some absorbed into the Local Group. The Atlas of the Universe I’ve mentioned several times as a great source of inspiration, though it looks like the website hasn’t been updated for a while.

So on the video I go through my history with TDWP, how I started a story in 2012, but dropped out and been pitching a few ideas. I did do some reviews, but never got used, though my review of City of Death went into Whotopia in 2013 (see publications page)

So, hopefully that is my final post on this story. 11 mentions since the start of June! Next one up is Inquisition, a 5th Doctor tale. Better get my skates on with finishing that one over the summer.

Brief Encounters page- (BE46)

http://www.thedoctorwhoproject.com/pages/seasons/briefencounters2.php

News release-

http://www.thedoctorwhoproject.com/index.php?subaction=showfull&id=1719035328&archive=&start_from=&ucat=1&

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Please let me know what you thought of this topic/feature/hike/ramble!