RSS

What’s the Scariest thing I have ever written?

30 Oct

tainted-love-cover-3I’ve become so numb, I can’t feel you there

Become so tired, so much more aware

By becoming this, all I want to do

Is be more like me and be less like you

Linkin Park- Numb

Written by Brad Delson, Chester Charles Bennington, Dave Farrell, Joseph Hahn, Mike Shinoda, Robert G. Bourdon • Copyright © Universal Music Publishing Group

 

What IS the Scariest thing I have ever written?

That’s a tough question, something I’d never considered before, as I’m usually conscious of being U or at the most, PG rated. Anyway this year’s Infinite Whoniverses Halloween Special might be IT- the Thing Unmentionable, the Horror of Horrors- 18 or more probably 15 rated.

Just to be clear- I don’t write erotica or have blood and gore flying everywhere. ‘Incineration Day’ in the EPIC Anthology was a black comedy, a dark, tense thriller with a bit of a gruesome twist. But really it’s been mainly child-friendly, family audience, like old Saturday night teatime. Okay, Infestation Day from IW last Halloween was creepy, especially if you’re a tad Arachnophobic, but now, it’s all about to change.

TAINTED LOVE is a Vampire tale, from Gallifreyan Mythology and The Eternal Wars era of Doctor Who lore. I watched Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 2 for inspiration- my favourite episodes from Surprise/Innocence to Becoming. Those are all rated 15. The most graphic Gothic/Horror stories of the Fourth Doctor- Deadly Assassin/Horror of Fang Rock/Pyramids of Mars and Robots of Death are all PG rated, although Ark in Space dvd is U for some mysterious reason. I guess it’s a matter of where you think the line should be drawn. So, I am going a bit beyond what I usually write, two scenes in particular have made me realise it’s a bit more graphic, both Vampire attacks, but blinkin’ Barnacles Fishcake, talk about stretching out of the comfy zone.

The irony is, it started out as a Romantic tale for The Doctor Who Project in 2013. Part of the Season 39 line-up, The Children of Chaos had to include part of the continuing storyline of companions Tom and Val falling in love, getting married and leaving the TARDIS and TDWP Version of The Doctor. I elected to write the scene of their First Kiss, called it ‘The Moment’ and include it in the story. Well, that story was never completed, but I still wanted to use the scene somehow. This is it. A perfect catalyst for a tragic story, the heartache of something so promising gone terribly wrong. The cruel ironies of life and decisions and choices you end up regretting. (I’ve had quite a few of those too!)

So, consider yourself forewarned- Infinite Whoniverses is going to a scary place this Halloween…..

OOOOOOO!

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “What’s the Scariest thing I have ever written?

  1. iancaimercer

    October 30, 2016 at 11:56 pm

    Reblogged this on Mr. Tiglet's Blog and commented:

    One more sleep ’til the horrors of the Vampire Wars arrive in the Last IW story of 2016!!

     

Please let me know what you thought of this topic/feature/hike/ramble!

 
