RSS

10 Reasons why Muppeteering is the Future

16 Jul

40 THINGS TO DO WHEN YOU’RE 40-

Ten Reasons why Muppeteering is the Future

 muppet_show_cast

1- I’ve always loved Puppet shows

From Punch and Judy to Panto, as well as Kermit and co!

 

2- Favourite Film – The Muppet Movie

From a swamp to a film set, this is an excellent Road Movie, Fozzy’s Rainbow-coloured Studebaker car summing up the silliness, as well as the Giant Fork in the middle of the road!

I could also mention Labyrinth, Muppets Treasure Island and most especially The Dark Crystal as other faves, but I think you get the gist. In fact, I might watch it again this weekend- Moving right along!

 

3- I’ve been trained!

Honestly, I have! Thinking about all my previous experiences from Blackpool Beach Mission 1992, Harry and Sally, The Nuisance twins and all the way to Tiglet and gang, I should list the lot on my CV!

 

4- The Muppet Show

Well, what else would be such an inspiration? Need I say anymore?!

 

5- It’s an excellent Creative resource in Kidswork

The best thing I have ever done at my Afterschool club was a stop-motion film last summer (Superthunderman’s Adventures in Partyland) but that was topped when the kids did their own Puppet show at Half Term, wish I had filmed that instead! Tiglet’s hikes and stories have appeared occasionally, but it is something I want to do more of, when I get the time!

~WRD0001

6- An excellent Creative resource in Storytelling too!!

All the stories done on Tiglets site/Facebook page over the past year and the first attempts I made on my main Blog in 2012 have been such an incredible experience. All the poems, Time Travels, Pirateez, the Woozies all the way to the Hiking vids and beyond. Check them out, what a journey!

 

7- It’s taking over my life!

2009 was when I proposed a short film about a Tiger Puppet making a wildlife documentary about Students in Liverpool on a film making course. I was told it was ‘too gimmicky’ what the hell? Should’ve done it. I am thinking about putting a proposal together and seeing about getting it funded from Kickstarter.

 

8- Stop Motion is hard, Puppeteering so much easier

While on a Harryhausen stop-motion phase on and off over the last year has been fun, it was a lot of hard work. Superthunderman’s Adventures was a great learning curve, but using the pictures from Tiglet’s Time Travels and narrating over them has been great, though I’d still love to get into Claymation. The return of Morph is making me think of a few possibilities for the summer, so it’s 50/50 what I’ll do, but I haven’t given up on the idea yet!

 

It's not easy being green

It’s not easy being green

9- It’s fun to do

That’s a no-brainer, but thought I’d mention it, well duh!!

 

 

10- I’m a Muppeteer!!!

It’s a great job title and great conversation topic for down the pub!

 

That’s the Top 10 Reasons why Muppeteering is the Future, though I’ve got lots of ideas for other stuff, including Live Action films, so we shall just have to see what happens then won’t we kiddies?

IT’S TIME TO GET THINGS STARTED!!

SAM_6266

The Tiglet Show Summer Special is coming August 2014!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “10 Reasons why Muppeteering is the Future

  1. iancaimercer

    July 16, 2014 at 8:22 am

    Post 443, the countdown to 500 has begun!!!

     
  2. iancaimercer

    July 16, 2014 at 8:22 am

    Reblogged this on Mr. Tiglet's Blog and commented:

    Time to play the music!

     

Please let me know what you thought of this topic/feature/hike/ramble!

 
