RSS
Image

MUSIC Reviews- KATY PERRY- PRISM

30 Jun

prism

‘Firework’ was an amazing song, so seeing the videos for the first two releases on this album- Roar and Unconditionally made me get it, and is a true musical rainbow of tunes.

 

“Cause I am A Champion, and you’re gonna hear me ROAR!”

Having seen the hilarious video of ‘Roar’ on Youtube, a reversal of Tarzan with Katy the Queen of the Jungle and her pet Tiger, ROAR is a delightful opening, a rhythmic rock ballad, full of hope, surprise, a growing experience as she fends for herself and her confidence grows. It has to be said that Tiglet’s eyeing this as a possible theme for the Tiglet Show, well, along with Tiger Feet//Circle of Life/The Lion sleeps tonight, so we’ll see what happens with that (if anything!)

 

“Take me down to the river, under the blood-orange sun. Say my name like a scripture, keep my heart beating like a drum”

Legendary Lovers is a rock anthem of love and devotion. A Bollywood-style meditation, spices of India and yogic imagery intrinsically woven into a poetic sari, with a great rhythm

 

“Give you something good to celebrate”

Birthday is a fun-loving party track, sweet and seductive simultaneously. Great tempo and the video rocks too!

 

“Heaven is jealous of our love. Angels are crying from up above”

Walking on Air starts like a typical dance/ pop-track, with a hint of Gospel. The Angel imagery is okay, but not keen on it really.

 

“Acceptance is the key, to be truly free. Will you do the same for me?”

The excellent Unconditionally is my second fave track. A statement of total commitment, given unreservedly. It sweeps you along, emotionally and thoroughly enjoyable.

 

“Baby, do you dare to do this? Cause I’m comin’ at ya like a Darkhorse”

Darkhorse I wasn’t really keen on at first, but it’s grown on me, even though the way the last line of the chorus- “There’s no Turning back” is said in the worst way, even the rap-bit is okay. The style is very X-Files, though the last line needs changing, or even cutting. Am I being pedantic? Probably but that line just grates, like nails on a chalkboard- urgh!

 

“Yo, this goes out to all you kids that still have their cars at the club Valet… And it’s a TUESDAY!”

This is How We Do is another party song, okay, but skippable.

 

“She runs the place like Penny Lane, you’re lucky if you’re on her Plane.”

International Smile reminds me of Electric Light Orchestra’s ‘Mr. Blue Sky’, especially the psychedelic instrumental break, but I guess it’s because I’m a 70’s child and very nostalgic! (See my Birthday Blog in April for details)

NOTE- I used to live near Penny Lane in Liverpool, so extra kudos for the Beatles reference!

 

“There’s just an echo where your heart used to be”

Ghost has a Taylor-Swift feel to it, though it wouldn’t be out of place on Supernatural, or even one of my own supernatural/fantasy series, when I get round to making one that is!

So I guess the question is- Who ya gonna call?

 

“No more second guessing, no there’s no more questioning. I’ll be the one defining who I’m gonna be.”

Love Me is another fave, a piano-led rhythmic ballad, full of life and vitality.

this is fantastic.

 

“But you know who I think will win. Are the ones who let love in, are the ones who take the time.”

This Moment is the absolute BEST track, what is not to love about this song? A great rhythm, drums, piano and vocals, optimistic and fun-loving, with some great lines. It’s a brilliant rock ballad, the theme about seizing the moment, living each day fully, and putting love into motion. A positive feeling , sung from the heart, love it!

 

“Wherever you go, so will I, ‘Cause a Double Rainbow is hard to find.”

Double Rainbow is a nice romantic ballad, full of imagery and poetry.

 

“By the Grace of God I picked myself back up. I put one foot in front of the other and I looked in the Mirror, and decided to stay. Wasn’t gonna let love take me out that way.”

By The Grace of God ends the album on a hopeful note, a thoughtful track about responding to life’s curveballs positively, especially when the world comes crashing down around you, finding the strength and courage to not give up but find a way forward., an excellent end to and excellent album.

10/10

Though the question that must be asked is how can she top it? I think making a ‘War of the Worlds’ style musical sounds right, must pitch it!!

Katy P has also begun her own record label, so maybe Tiglet should get The Piano Princess and the Timezingers to make a pitch or two? Have to see about that one as well!

 

 

2 responses to “MUSIC Reviews- KATY PERRY- PRISM

  1. iancaimercer

    June 30, 2014 at 10:15 pm

    441st post, nearly halfway to 500!!

     
  2. iancaimercer

    June 30, 2014 at 10:17 pm

    Reblogged this on Mr. Tiglet's Blog and commented:

    Get the Piano Princess and the Timezingers rehearsing! Need to work on that debut album- Pronto!!

     

Please let me know what you thought of this topic/feature/hike/ramble!

 
