RSS

“Fail to plan and you plan to fail” – coping strategies for when life turns nasty.

13 May

Once again Laura hits the nail on the head, but no wet Fish were harmed- this time!

laurajaneroche

One of the most reliable things about life is that you can count on it to fuck you over at some point. Whether that is through difficult life events, relationships or circumstances, it is rare to sail through to old age completely unscathed.

I’ve employed various coping mechanisms over the years to deal with depression, anxiety, long-term health problems and a variety of other difficult things that came my way. Some of them were good and some were very bad indeed. Before I received proper therapy and support and got to know myself inside out, my coping strategies included heavy drinking, over-eating, self-harm, exuberant credit fuelled shopping sprees and hanging out with people who were as fucked up as I was, or worse. I’ve always had an invisible sign on my head saying ‘Come meet me!’ that only the seriously messed up could read.

It’s taken me the best part…

View original post 901 more words

 

One response to ““Fail to plan and you plan to fail” – coping strategies for when life turns nasty.

  1. Pingback: Miss Crabby Ass

Please let me know what you thought of this topic/feature/hike/ramble!

 
