RSS

Foggy Days in a Wintery Haze- Chester Walls as never seen before Part 1

12 Jan

SAM_3809Well, it is not often that you begin a walk, give up and then return a day later to complete it, but that happened to me this week.

Thursday Morning, on another Sunrise chase, I thought that the best place to get that from would be Chester Walls overlooking the River Dee.  Twice I have photographed the River and been round the Walls, both on very sunny days, once in April, then again in December.

It was a strange day indeed.  Wednesday morning had seen a foggy start with the mist clearing and sun shiningSAM_3810 before I arrived in Chester, (see Going Potty and Chasing Sunsets Wednesday 9th Jan 2013.).  Thinking the same would happen Thursday, I set off early, getting in and joining the Wall at Northgate Street.  I followed the route along the Shropshire Union Canal, past Morgan’s Mount, over the Inner Ring Road and to the Water Tower.

That was eerie, seeing the Gardens misted over.

SAM_3813

as was the Racecourse.  I even looked over the Grosvenor Bridge at the River Dee, which was calm, a blanket SAM_3815of mist covering that too.  So I gave up.

Yep, you heard me right, I dropped the ball, gave up the ghost, let go of the bone, threw in the towel and called it a day. I gave up.

The fog never lifted, until it had gone dark again, so no sunrise or set, no light, just a very depressing walk, or so I thought.

Then Friday began the same, but I took it as a challenge, bit into the bone again, gave the ghost the heebijeebies, started juggling and grabbed a brand new towel for another adventure, but more on that tomorrow!

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Please let me know what you thought of this topic/feature/hike/ramble!

 
