RSS

Ian’s Travelblog- The Great BIG Merseywalk (5/6)

23 Aug

Otterspool Prom to Albert Dock  I have covered before, but, as with Hale, I wanted to link it together, a single Mersey Megahike, covering as much distance as you can in a day.

I don’t think anyone has ever tried this; at least not the way I’ve done it- hey I’m a trendsetter!  But how can I measure the mileage?  It was about Three Miles from Spike Island to Hale, yet 7 Kilometres from Otterspool to Pier Head, but the entire coastline from Hale to Garston was just a very, very long way!

I didn’t stop along the prom, just kept going, taking the occasional pic.  Had a sit down for a few minutes by the Festival Gardens, but kept to a brisk pace, even though I was footsore, aching and tired, I managed to get to Albert Dock and Pier Head just before 6pm, making it the longest day for a hike, 8 and half hours in total.

I found refuge in the Pumphouse Tavern.  A good pint, a Gourmet burger (2 sets of Beef, Cheese and Bacon!) with chips, then a Sticky toffee pudding with Ice Cream- Bliss!!

And after the ordeal I’d been through to get there, I’d say it was thoroughly worthwhile.

Now for the next Long Hike!!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 23, 2012 in Hiking, Ian's Travelblog, Merseywalks, Summer!

 

2 responses to “Ian’s Travelblog- The Great BIG Merseywalk (5/6)

  1. iancaimercer

    August 23, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    Just one more to go, the 160th post no less, writen to the sounds of Taylor Swift!!! I gave this 5 stars just for the pudding pic!!!

     
  2. silver price

    September 1, 2012 at 5:04 am

    To those of us who live in south Liverpool, Otterspool Prom is much-loved and visited area.The walks along the prom can be bracing – make that very windy – but they are ideal for walking, cycling, and for those in buggies or wheelchairs. Now that the new Liverpool Museum work has finished, you can even walk/ride all the way up the river to the Pier Head – a distance of about 4.5 miles (7.5K).The Prom and park have been completely refurbished since 2007 but the latest news is that there is now a very pleasant cafe – Otters Cafe – near the children’s play area. We visited on Saturday 12th November 2011 and I have to say that the coffee and hot and cold snacks were first class.If you are in the area it’s well worth a visit, particualrly as it does breakfasts from 9 a.m. Walking the dog will never be the same.

     

Please let me know what you thought of this topic/feature/hike/ramble!

 
