RSS

Ian’s Travelblog- The Great BIG Welsh Xmas Adventure- The Finale!!

15 Jan

 

Croeso!!

The first hike of 2012 was so much better than the last one of 2011.  I didn’t want to do any climbing, so took the River Stroll mentioned in the leaflets from the cottage welcome pack.

I walked up to the Leisure Centre, up Green Lane on the other side of the River Dee, past the Maesafallen estate, then left past Clawdd Poncen and onto the A494 past Rug Chapel and back over the narrow Pont Corwen bridge, taking in what sights I could see and what wildlife I could encounter, which consisted of Sheep, a Chicken, Pheasants and a Squirrel, none of which I was quick enough to capture on camera (well, maybe the sheep, but why bother?!)

Then it was just a matter of packing, finishing off food and scribbling bits and bobs, even updating my Reviews CV, I’ve done over two dozen over the past few months, so let’s see if I can double that!!

Monday was the first day of glorious sunshine, perfect for driving home in, past Llangollen and Trevor (nice name, wonder if there’s a Welsh village called ‘Ian’ though?) 

 

Stopped at Pontcysyllte Aqueduct, which has great views along the Vale of Llangollen.

I even tried taking photos from the car, getting a great shot of Llangollen train station, but a few blurred ones, including one of Dinas Bran Castle, obscured by a tree!

 

So, the Welsh Adventures got the Year off to a great start.  Next time though I’m thinking of going further and deeper into Wales, hopefully when there is better weather and more Wildlife than just sheep and squirrels!!

 

One response to “Ian’s Travelblog- The Great BIG Welsh Xmas Adventure- The Finale!!

  1. Panasonic Camera Reviews

    January 18, 2012 at 12:03 pm

    Hi there I am so delighted I found your blog, I really found you by error, while I was researching on Digg for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a marvelous post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the excellent work.
    Sony Camera Reviews

     

Please let me know what you thought of this topic/feature/hike/ramble!

 
