RSS

Looking to the future

03 Apr

“We cannot change the past, it is what has made us who we are. We must look to the future and all it holds for us,”

There are some things that I wish I had the power to change.  Top of the list would be bringing my Mother back, as she died from Cancer eight years ago.  As that is not possible, I have been going through her files and work that she managed to put onto disk.

I attempted to adapt her novel Northern Conspiracy into a Radio Play in 2005, but cutting down 90k words to 10k was very difficult, I never thought that I did it justice.  I began a Script adaptation, but gave up after that attempt.

More recently, after adapting Romeo and Juliet into an SF Space Opera screenplay, I have thought of trying again, this time using some of the things I’ve learned from ON WRITING and other books.

Of her nine books, five were completed, but I have never really been confident in editing or sending them off anywhere, especially when I have such a difficult time placing my own original material.

But I think that I have run out of excuses ‘oh, I’m not good enough, whoa to me!’ is the worst excuse for not doing anything, so what if I stink?  I took on the responsibility of safeguarding her work and seeking publication, self-publication would be best, but as it’s not possible, I’ve just got to bite the bullet and try to do the best I can.

So that is something that I can do for her this Mother’s Day, as I have at last converted her short stories from Microsoft Works to Word files and am looking at a few possible publishers and get editing.

So, from now on there’s no excuses, no more looking backwards, it’s off to work we go!

Dedicated to the memory of Jean Mercer 1950-2003

 

3 responses to “Looking to the future

  1. marjorie lewis

    April 3, 2011 at 6:55 am

    GO for it Ian . it would be the very best thing you can do in memory of your mum who was my friend too . God bless marjorie

     
  2. Laura Roche

    April 3, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    Never give up trying to get your own and your mother’s work published. How wonderful it would be if she could live on through her writing 🙂

     
  3. Deni

    April 3, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    Wow – sweet memories of sitting with your Mum in my back garden discussing her very first book! A little metaphor for you : some plants take time to grow and need a lot of care and nurturing. I cannot think of anyone better who could nurture your Mum’s work and, with patience, see it blossom. May God open all the right doors. Deni

     

Please let me know what you thought of this topic/feature/hike/ramble!

 
