RSS

Challenges of the Climb

13 Feb

There’s always gonna be another mountain

I’m always gonna wanna make it move

Always gonna be a uphill battle

Sometimes I’m gonna have to lose

Ain’t about how fast I get there

Ain’t about what’s waiting on the other side

It’s the climb

I’m still thinking about how to improve this website, as well as maintain some sort of consistency, harder now with two jobs and a four hour commute!!

Most of the work I’ve uploaded has been, well, on the old side.  First drafts and rewrites.  Part of my hesitency in putting up newer stuff is whether Publishers would still take anything that’s been on the Internet, I know Short Story magazines don’t like it, so that’s one reason.  Life is full of challenges at the moment.  There was a quiz on Facebook a while ago, ‘what Country song describes your life?’  I thought I’d get something by Dolly Parton or Hank Williams, but ended up with ‘The Climb’ by Miley Cyrus, which was a surprise as I didn’t think she did Country!

The video is interesting as it takes the form of a journey down a dusty road, through rain, sunshine and wild horses(!) eventually ending up on an edge overlooking a big lake.

The Lyrical narrative follows that pattern.  Verse one sets out the dilemma- Doubts about the Journey, can the dream be reached/acheived, knockbacks, apparent failures, no direction, losing faith and struggling with nature/the elements, all of which test your resolve and endurance.

It’s a great Rock Ballard, made relevant to me by my attempts to get published/commissioned and a job over the last six years, mainly in the Media but something with kids/youthwork.  While I have had loads of voluntary work, as well as scribbling everything I can, the irony is I’ve failed to get anywhere with Media, but gotten into Education, a surprise but a welcome one, especially as I’m working on ideas for Picture books/Graphic Novels and Young Adult stories.

So for me, the moral of the song is to ‘keep on movin’ keep climbin’, something Martin Luther King also said- “If you can’t fly, run. If you can’t run, walk. If you can’t walk, crawl, but by all means keep moving.”  So if I have to reinvent the wheel, so be it.  A new strategy is needed.  I’m still on a Creative Journey, still evolving, expressing creativity in varied ways- including a Poetry workshop in school.  So, I’m going to appreciate the view, overcome whatever obstacles get in my way and keep going, as they said in Cool Runnings- ‘Peace be the Journey’ something that I’ll get round to enjoying sooner or later!

 

One response to “Challenges of the Climb

  1. Clare

    February 21, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    ‘Keep movin” – yes, a good thought. I’ll remember that.

     

Please let me know what you thought of this topic/feature/hike/ramble!

 
